REVIEW EMBARGO LIFTED AUGUST 31 · REVIEWS LIVE
The Blood of Dawnwalker review embargo lifted: reviews are live
The review embargo lifted on August 31, 2026 at the reported time of 5:00 PM CEST. Compare the original PC and PS5 reviews, disclosed test hardware and the performance conclusions each source can actually support.
Last checked: September 2, 2026 · Facts and sources are updated when they change.
When did The Blood of Dawnwalker review embargo lift?
The reported embargo time was August 31, 2026 at 5:00 PM CEST (11:00 AM EDT / 8:00 AM PDT), and full reviews are now live. Several outlets published finished reviews on August 31. The exact time came from an official community post rather than a publisher press release, so it is identified here as reported; the linked publication dates independently confirm that reviews are available.
Looking for reviews?Open the original outlets below, not copied quotes or score screenshots.
Buying on PC?Check each reviewer's stated GPU, settings, scene and game version.
Buying on PS5 or Xbox?Do not treat a PC result as a console benchmark.
Want a score?Use the live Metacritic listing; this page preserves test context instead.
Important: a reviewer's conclusion is an opinion. Hardware, platform, build and measurable performance observations are listed only when that outlet states them. A single reviewer’s result is not a universal PC or console benchmark.
Reported local times
Los AngelesAugust 31 · 8:00 AM PDT
New YorkAugust 31 · 11:00 AM EDT
LondonAugust 31 · 4:00 PM BST
Warsaw / Berlin / ParisAugust 31 · 5:00 PM CEST
TokyoSeptember 1 · 12:00 AM JST
SydneySeptember 1 · 1:00 AM AEST
What a review embargo means
It is the earliest scheduled time that outlets can publish full-game verdicts, scores and technical testing. It is not an early-access time, a preload announcement or a promise that every outlet will publish immediately. Before that time, hands-on previews and speculation are not the same as final reviews.
First attributable full reviews
PC Gamer · August 31
Test platform: PC — RTX 3060 laptop, Ryzen 5 5600H and 16GB RAM disclosed. Patch/build: not stated. Technical observation: the reviewer reports generally holding 60 FPS at 1080p/Low on that machine. That is one reviewer’s scene-and-settings-specific observation, not a recommended specification or guaranteed result. Review observation: the review praises the setting and story while finding the time system less severe than its early promise.
Game Informer · August 31, 10:00 AM
Test platform: PlayStation 5. Patch/build: not stated. Technical evidence: none quantified in this review. Review observation: it says the 30-day structure shaped its completed playthrough, while criticising repetitive enemy encounters and some systems.
CGMagazine · August 31
Test platform: PlayStation 5. Patch/build: not stated. Technical evidence: no versioned frame-rate test is provided. Review observation: it describes the day/night forms and time segments as central to how quests can be approached; it also calls combat uneven at times.
Destructoid · August 31, 10:00 AM
Test platform: PC — the writer specifically names an RX 9070 XT at native 1440p/Ultra. Patch/build: not stated. Technical observation: the writer reports 80–90 FPS outside busy areas but drops into the 30s in Svartrau; treat that as a single pre-release test report, not a confirmed launch-wide issue or fix.
The AU Review · September 1
Test platform: the reviewer calls it a final PlayStation 5 build and also mentions PS5 Pro mode comparison. Patch/build: a sizable review-period patch arrived roughly 30 hours into play; no build number is given. The outlet says a Day One performance mode is planned to target 60 FPS, so that result was not available for this review. Technical observation: the reviewer reports 40 FPS or lower during review play, pop-in and occasional clipping, and no dramatic change after the review-period patch beyond improved stability. This is one pre-launch reviewer report, not confirmation of a launch-wide defect or Day One fix.
What can and cannot be concluded so far
Supported by multiple finished reviews: the game’s story, world and 30-day structure are central to critics’ discussion; opinions differ on how consistently its combat and time-system ambitions land.
Not supported yet: a universal PC benchmark, a confirmed Day One performance fix, a cross-platform performance verdict, or a reliable aggregate conclusion. Reviews do not disclose a common build or patch number, so their technical results cannot be treated as like-for-like testing.
Metacritic: direct listing, not a copied score roundup
For readers searching for The Blood of Dawnwalker Metacritic, use the live Metacritic game listing to see its current status. We do not copy, calculate or repeatedly publish an aggregate score here: a changing number alone does not show which platform was reviewed, whether the critic used a launch patch, or what technical evidence the review contains. This page links original reviews and preserves their disclosed test context instead.
What to check when reviews go live
- Platform and patch: PC, PS5 and Xbox results are not interchangeable, especially before the Day One update.
- Completion status: distinguish a finished review from a limited preview or review-in-progress.
- Performance evidence: look for tested settings, console mode, frame-rate measurements and repeatable scenes.
- 30-day system: check whether the reviewer explains actual time costs rather than repeating pre-release assumptions.
- Disclosure: note review code, sponsored travel or other access disclosed by the outlet.
Should you wait before pre-ordering?
If performance, story quality or the 30-day time system could change your buying decision, waiting for full reviews is the rational choice. The current edition listings do not promise early access; see the edition comparison and the release date and unlock guide for confirmed purchase and timing details.
Review embargo FAQ
When did The Blood of Dawnwalker review embargo lift?
The official community post reported August 31, 2026 at 5:00 PM CEST. That was a review-publication time, not early access or game unlock time.
Are The Blood of Dawnwalker reviews live?
Yes. The original full reviews linked above were published on August 31; previews, leaks and score screenshots are excluded.
Does an August 31 review unlock the game?
No. Reviews are separate from the September 3 game release and platform unlock schedule.
Does a PC review prove performance on every PC?
No. Compare its exact hardware, settings, location and stated game build. Until several outlets publish comparable tests or the launch build is available, no universal frame-rate conclusion is justified.
Will this become a score roundup?
No. It will continue to prioritise original links, disclosed test context and clearly-labelled review observations over a copied aggregate.
Sources
- DawnwalkerOfficial community post — reported embargo schedule ↗
- PC Gamer — PC review and disclosed test hardware ↗
- Game Informer — PS5 review ↗
- CGMagazine — PS5 review ↗
- Destructoid — PC performance observation ↗
- The AU Review — PS5 review-build performance notes ↗
- Metacritic — The Blood of Dawnwalker listing ↗